Becoming a Software Developer - Part 1

How I switched career paths and started my journey to becoming a software developer.

Becoming a Software Developer - Part 1

Before writing this article, I decided to take some time to read what others had written on this very subject. I know for a fact that I am not alone when it comes to switching career paths, but for some reason, I couldn't find the right words.

Anyhoo, after reading a couple of articles, I felt, I could begin. So here goes. For starters, I'd like to note that I didn't always want to become a developer. In fact, it wasn’t on my radar. I had never thought it, dreamt it, or even received any advice on how to become one; nonetheless, I cannot overemphasize the joy and fulfillment I derive from my work, I am grateful for the chance I was given to become one.

A Little Back Story

I studied Petroleum Engineering in university, and frankly, I thought I was going to be doing that for a long time to come. However, due to unforeseen situations (job applications denied) and honestly, a lack of patience, I decided to start work with a management consulting firm. Strange right.

Well, working at the company was great. The people were amazing, the job offered me a new type of challenge, and, I felt content. I was so pleased with what I was doing, that I figured if I was going to change jobs, I’d most likely go for another company in the same sector.

Little did I know that an awakening was on the rise.

Joining The-Dots

melyna-valle-oFYBzMh9qt0-unsplash.jpg

Now, I’ve already mentioned that I didn’t plan on becoming a developer, neither was it a topic of conversation for me among close friends and family. But looking back, I can see why I ended up down this path.

For those who know me, you most likely already realize how much I love design and colour. Patterns, symmetry, and creativity. In university, I had a knack for designing beautiful PowerPoint presentation slides. I was also fascinated with the posters designed for our school parties and events. But I didn’t think much of it during that time.

Looking back, this was 100% due to my choice of study. Petroleum Engineering is quite a lucrative field, it’s very rewarding, and the journey is all so exciting. With that in mind, I refused to entertain the idea of having a different means of livelihood. I was focused on getting that degree in the bag.

Lol…fast forward to working at the management consulting company.

kaur-martin-3yx9CdUQJYk-unsplash.jpg

If you recall, I mentioned earlier that I have always been fascinated with design and graphics; well surprise surprise, at the management consulting company, my job was to analyze markets trends and businesses, and present them to clients in PowerPoint slides or documents.

In other words, be creative with my designs. In hindsight, one major reason I felt content at the company was that I was allowed to think completely outside the box when designing the slides and documents. It was refreshing for me; I was doing something I enjoyed and hadn’t tapped into in school, plus I was being paid for it. , I was ecstatic.

Then one day, my boss had a brilliant idea. She wanted us to build our own intranet. Oh my god, talk about a revelation. This idea has stuck with me ever since

I love to design, and if possible, I would like to do that for a living.

I had no idea what HTML or CSS meant, talk less of JavaScript. All I knew was that WordPress could be used to build a site and that with a little HTML here and there, I could make something appealing.

And with a little dabbling here and there, I built the intranet. I cherished it, and as I write this, I am grateful for it. That singular project opened my mind to more than my college degree.

But this wasn’t the turning point for me, that’s still a few months ahead.